Body to prep PH for Expo 2020


Malacanang on Friday issued Administrative Order (AO) No. 17, creating the Philippine Organizing Committee (POC) for the Expo 2020 Dubai.

Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea, by the authority of President Rodrigo Duterte, signed the order, stating the need to “facilitate the preparation of the Philippines in the Expo 2020 Dubai through inter-agency collaboration and coordination,” last 24 April.

It takes effect immediately.

The Philippines’ participation in the event will open opportunities for the further enhancement of the country’s presence on the global stage as well as promote its commercial and public interests in the Middle East, Africa, and South Asia region.

Under the AO, the POC shall be chaired by the Secretary of the Department of Trade and Industry (DTI), while the Secretary of the Department of Tourism (DOT) will serve as vice chairperson.

The rest of the body will be made up of the secretaries of the Departments of Foreign Affairs, Budget and Management, Labor and Employment, Science and Technology, and Information and Communications Technology.

Funding for the POC shall be sourced from the 2019 Contingent Fund, upon the recommendation of the Budget department, and subject to the approval of the President.

AO 17 tasks the POC to draft and implement a work plan, act as coordinating body between the private sector and other government entities; ensure that the benefits of the Philippine participation are maximized through a concerted and cost-effective national approach; employ and utilize sustainable architectural design; and ensure the safety and protection of government properties.

It shall also overlook exhibit materials and equipment; accept or receive sponsorship and gratuitous title of funds, materials and devices essential for planning, implementing and managing the country’s participation in the Expo; and undertake marketing and promotional activities among others.

With the theme “Connecting Minds, Creating the Future,” Expo 2020 Dubai will run from 20 October 2020 through 10 April 2021.