Duterte reveals alleged ‘narco’ politicians


President Rodrigo Duterte revealed an initial 46 names in the Department of Interior and Local Government’s list of narco politicians running for office in the midterm elections on Thursday.

During a command conference of the government’s security cluster in Davao City, Duterte mentioned mentioned the names of Pangasinan 1st District Rep. Jesus Celeste, Zambales 1st District Rep. Jeffrey D. Khonhun, Leyte 3rd District Rep. Vicente Veloso, Mayor Vicente Loot of Daanbantayan, Cebu and dismissed Iloilo City Mayor Jed Mabilog.

Also mentioned were the following:
Mayor Ferdinand Aguinaldo of Pasuquin, Ilocos Norte;
Mayor Marjorie Salazar  of Lasam, Cagayan;
Mayor Erlon Agustin of Camiling, Tarlac;
Mayor Cipriano Violago Jr. of San Rafael, Bulacan;
Mayor Raul Palino of Teresa, Rizal;
Mayor Eulalio Alilio of Lemery, Batangas;
Mayor Antonio Miro Jr. of San Pablo, Isabela;
Mayor Roderick Alcala of Lucena City;
Mayor Juan Toreja of Ibaan, Batangas;
Mayor Jefferson F. Konghun of Subic, Zambales
Mayor Loreto Amante of San Pablo, Laguna;
Mayor Bruno T. Ramos of Bay, Laguna
Mayor Caesar P. Perez of Los Baños, Laguna
Mayor Nieves Cabunalda-Rosento of El Nido, Palawan;
Mayor Mariano M. Malones of Maasin, Iloilo;
Mayor Rasul M. Sangki of Ampatuan, Maguindanao
Mayor Abubakar Pendatun Maulana of Palimbang, Sultan Kudarat;
Mayor Ariel Alagos of Culasi, Antique;
Mayor Jamar Mansul of Hadji Muhtamad, Basilan;
Mayor Gamar A. Janihim of Sirawai, Zamboanga del Norte
Mayor Leonida A. Angcap of Midsalip, Zamboanga del Sur
Mayor Julius Ronald L. Pacificador of Hamtic, Antique
Mayor Onting A. Betita of Carles, Iloilo
Mayor Mamaulan A Mulok of Maguing, Lanao del Sur
Mayor Vicman K. Montawal of Datu Montawal, Maguindanao
Mayor Albert Palencia of Banga, South Cotabato
Mayor Pablo Mondejar Matinong Jr. of Sto. Niño, South Cotabato
Mayor Roberto Malijao Luna Jr. of Lingig Surigao del Sur
Mayor Crisinciano Enot Mahilac of Sincaban, Misamis Occidental
Mayor David Mabal Navarro of Clarin, Misamis Occidental
Mayor Ezel T. Villanueva of Calamba, Misamis Occidental
Mayor Jason Paredes Almonte of Oroquieta City
Vice Mayor Abdul Wahad Sabal of Talitay, Maguindanao;
Vice Mayor Franz C. Sabalones of San Fernando, Cebu;
Vice Mayor Dennis L. Hernandez of Rodriguez, Rizal
Vice Mayor Ohto C. Montawal of Datu Montawal, Maguindanao
Vice Mayor Anida A. Dimaukom of Datu Saudi Ampatuan, Maguindanao
Vice Mayor Arafat Alim Salic of Marawi City
Vice Mayor Jamal A. Pangandamun of Maguing, Lanao del Sur
Board Member Rommel C. Ayuson of Rizal
former Mayor Montasser M. Sabal of Talitay, Maguindanao

Duterte expressed exasperation over Loot, a retired police general.

“You went to the PMA (Philippine Military Academy). You were educated on a scholarship of the people’s money because we wanted a good soldier. Why did you do that to the Filipinos?” said Duterte.

“You were a general in the police, you were supposed to be a patriot of the country. Why are you on the list?” he added.

Duterte also expressed disappointment over Mabilog being granted a United States visa despite the sending of a copy of the list to the US Embassy in Manila.

“I would like to inform the US Embassy. I thought I gave you a list? If this mayor was able to slip (out of the country)… I would like to ask you, why did you give him a visa?” he said.

“You asked for a list, I gave it to your Ambassador so that Filipino addicts who’d go there only to destroy your country will be denied visa,” he continued.

Duterte said he won’t mention the other names in the list as he wants to be “doubly sure” of the validity of the report.

According to the President, those included in the narco-list have already been charged before the Ombudsman as of Thursday.

Meanwhile, the Anti-Money Laundering Council and Presidential Anti-Corruption Commission are expected to conduct their own investigations on the named politicians in the coming days.