DoE offers energy contracts for 14 oil areas

Algeria oil field in Cebu. (RTVM image)

The Department of Energy (DOE) is offering investors oil exploration contracts in 14 areas under its Philippine Conventional Energy Contracting Program (PCECP) for Petroleum.

The 14 so-called pre-determined areas (PDA) include two onshore blocks in the Agusan-Davao Basin, one onshore block in the Cotabato Basin, and three offshore blocks in the Sulu Sea Basin.

DoE Undersecretary Engr. Donato D. Marcos said the agency is inviting oil prospectors to attend the PCECP roadshow in Zamboanga City where various stakeholders in the upstream petroleum sector (i.e. government units, academic institutions, interested companies, etc.) shall be informed of the program’s objectives and opportunities for petroleum resource exploration and development.

The roadshow will be held at the Marcian Garden Hotel and Convention Center, Governor Camins Avenue, Zamboanga City on 18 October 2018 from 8:00 am to noon.

The PCECP is a new licensing system in awarding new Petroleum Service Contracts (PSCs) for the exploration and development of the country’s indigenous oil and gas resources.

Under the program, potential investors have two options in applying for a PSC: (1) thru participation in a competitive selection process during periodic offerings of PDA, or (2) thru nomination of preferred areas other than the PDA at any given time.

“Should you be interested to participate, kindly revert to us a completely filled-out reply form (also attached) by sending it through our email address at For further clarifications, you may contact our PCECP Team at telephone numbers (+632) 812-4016 or (+632) 479-2900 locals 237 or 363,” said Marcos.

p: wjg