Ginebra is champion


Barangay Ginebra won its first Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) Commissioner’s Cup in 21 years after dethroning defending champion San Miguel Beer in Game 6 of their best-of-seven finals series via a 93-77 annihilation of the Beermen at the MOA Arena on Wednesday night, 8 August 2018.

San Miguel Beer closed the first half ahead by 10 points but the Gin Kings broke away in the second half by outscoring the Beermen, 27-8, and never looked back as the guns of their rival went silent.

Ginebra was comfortably ahead, 87-67, entering the last two minutes of the game courtesy of Jeff Chan’s fastbreak layup en route to its title-clinching four wins in the series against two by San Miguel Beer.

Best import of the conference Justin Brownlee powered Ginebra by uncorking 31 points, hauling off 19 rebounds and dishing out 7 assists. He also blocked 4 shots and made two steals that wowed a mostly Ginebra fans crowd of 20,490.

Scottie Thompson’s double-double 12 points and 13 rebounds with 5 assists gave his team the momentum in the third canto and also won for him the Finals Most Valuable Player award.

June Mar Fajardo led San Miguel Beer with 29 points while import Renaldo Balkman added 24 points.