Gloria Arroyo joins PDP-Laban

House Speaker and PDP-Laban Secretary General Pantaleon Alvarez (2nd from right) administers the oathtaking for new party members Pampanga Rep. Gloria Macapagal Arroyo, Bohol Rep. Arthur Yap, Nasser Pangandaman, Camiguin Rep. Xavier Jesus Romualdo and Cagayan Economic Zone Authority chief Raul Lambino. House Majority Floor Leader Rep. Rodolfo Farinas (right) looks on. (Photo courtesy of Dindi Tan)

FORMER President and Pampanga Rep. Gloria Macapagal Arroyo has joined the Partido Demokratiko Pilipino-Lakas ng Bayan (PDP-Laban).

Arroyo, together with her former Cabinet members Arthur Yap and Nasser Pangandaman, took her oath as PDP-Laban member before the party’s secretary general and House Speaker Pantaleon Alvarez on Wednesday.

In a statement issued Wednesday the ceremony, Arroyo said, “My joining the PDP-Laban is to consolidate support for the President. It is a matter of course as we have been talking about this for quite sometime.”

Arroyo leaves her party Lakas-CMD.